If You Liked Harry Potter, You’ll Definitely Like…

harry potter and the cursed chidlHave a craving for more Potter after reading Harry Potter and the Cursed Child? Unfortunately, it doesn’t look like we will get more about Harry Potter himself, BUT your local booksellers have put together a list of titles we like to call “Potter Picks” that have similar characteristics to J.K. Rowling’s beloved series.

1. Akata Witch, by Nnedi Okorafor

akata witchMain character Sunny is a 12-year-old Nigerian albino who struggles with belonging until she discovers the world of the Leopard People who struggles with belonging until she discovers the world of the Leopard People and is plunged into a heroic fight of good vs. evil.  This novel is perfect for readers in the upper middle-grade, lower YA bracket…it’s like a female-led Harry Potter set in Nigeria!

2. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, by Ransom Riggs

miss peregrine's
“We cling to our fairy tales until the price for believing in them becomes too high.” After a 16 year old boy witnesses his grandfather dying by the hands of a “monster,” he follows clues that lead him to an abandoned orphanage on a Welsh island. Little does he know that the orphanage is not abandoned and the people that live there are nothing but peculiar.

3. The Name of the Wind, by Patrick Rothfuss

the name of the wind
This novel opens with a silence of three parts and unfolds to reveal the story of the mysterious and legendary Kvothe. The first in a trilogy, this book focuses mostly on Kvothe’s journey from a member of a wandering tribe to his installment as a student at “the University,” where he begins to learn of his potential for magic and all of its wonders and dangers.  It is a novel full of magic, intrigue, and adventure in a high fantasy setting, and comes highly recommended by at least two of our booksellers (who are still eagerly awaiting the third installment …).

4. Skippy Dies, by Paul Murray

skippy dies

If you enjoy books about kids in a boarding school, “Skippy Dies” is a must-read. Sure, you know the ending, but that doesn’t mean you won’t love spending 650 pages with these goofy, naughty teens. It’s real world Harry Potter, uncensored!

5. The Unwanteds, by Lisa McMann

the unwanteds
In the land of Quill, creativity and artistic talent are seen as undesirable traits, and the children who possess these qualities are known as the Unwanteds. But when a mysterious magician named Mr. Today takes young Alex Stowe and his fellow Unwanteds under his wing, he shows them a secret world in which they can harness their powers for good. This seven-book series, which is perfect for older middle-graders, sets up a series of battles and quests between the Unwanteds and their adversaries (led by Alex’s twin brother, Aaron) in Quill…and the themes of bravery, adventure, and the endless struggle between good and evil will resonate with anyone who loved the goings-on at Hogwarts.

Advertisements

About roscoebooks

We pride ourselves on being your Neighborhood Independent Bookstore (even if you don't officially live in the Neighborhood)!
This entry was posted in Books and Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s